I’ve had it with vmware


…and linux, as a TRULY viable alternative to Windows (or, gasp, a mac), is in the dog house right now.

A few days ago Fedora, on my main computer, decided it was time to run a number of updates. I think the kernel was part of this particular round, as it required a reboot.
Today, as I set to do some bookkeeping, I fired up vmware player, but it didn’t work. I got a message about an update, then a message about the update not being able to run and then nothing.

I ran into something similar some months ago and documented how I solved it, but what had previously worked, for some reason, didn’t anymore.

For the next several hours I tried different things, googled the hell out of the problem to no avail and, in the end, decided it was high time that I post my problem in vmware’s forums. This was this morning. So far, my question’s been read about a dozen times and whoever knows how to solve this particular problem is probably busy helping other users with their own problems, as not a single reply has been posted. Most importantly, not a single vmware support employee has bothered to drop by to offer support or even acknowledge the problem, and this is on a non-free product.

This isn’t anything new in the Linux netherworld, where many of the programs I rely on came to be because someone whoever knows how to write them happened to have the same problems I encountered. Of course, the quality is directly proportional to how anal that programmer actually is. The most extreme case of this I’ve seen so far was Wine on Debian: the volunteer that maintained that package fell off the edge of the earth and as a result Debian has no Wine unless you’re willing to jump through fiery hoops.

To put the whole situation mildly, I’m fucking sick of how often a trivial task becomes an ordeal because all of a sudden I have to deal with dependencies, updates, and plain bugs. All in the name of an operating system that’s [so far] impervious to viruses and doesn’t require hardware worthy of science fiction to run reasonably well.

I’m calling Red Hat’s pre-sales department before the week is over to see if $300 will at least get me some decent support for a year, until I’m truly comfortable here instead of spending a good chunk of my billable hours dealing with hobby-ware.

Leave a Reply

