Privacy – yes, I know, more of the same…


It’s quite ironic that science fiction has led us to believe that it would be government who, by 1984, would be watching our every move and know more about ourselves than us, yet it is the poster children of the free enterprise, Google, Facebook, who would really have this ability and we’d be asking our governments to find a way to curb their voracity for the data that are our lives.

Google doesn’t say much about what it does with our information, but it’s just a matter of time before their vast database of emails, search patterns, clicks, and, lately, phone call transcriptions (possibly done in real time) are offered for hire, providing anyone willing to pay the price with a chillingly accurate image of our lives.

Facebook keeps making statements, which are changed about every six months in subtle ways, but judging about how the social network works, they should stop the crap, come to terms with reality, and change the name of their privacy policy to “publicity policy.” I’m the first to admit that it provides a rather pathetic picture of who most of the people in my contacts list really are (and how little they have to offer), but I can’t get away from it for prolonged periods of time. It appeals to my (and everybody else’s) narcissistic sense of self.

Will any of this happen? I don’t think so. As much as we hate the beast, we just can’t stop feeding it. They’re like those mythological creatures that feed on hate, yet everyone hates them.

One Response to “Privacy – yes, I know, more of the same…”

  1. bluewoodtree Says:

    I am glad that I recently opted out of facebook – don’t have to worry about it anymore. Google is another issue, but I am using DuckDuckGo.com 90% of the time anyways. Not that I am concerned about my data in particular – I don’t have to hide anything – , but I simply don’t like those “companies” treat the users, i.e., the user’s privacy!


Leave a Reply

